King Khalid University and Makkah International Dental Conference & Exhibition Sign Memorandum of Understanding

King Khalid University - Media Center


King Khalid University Rector, His Excellency Prof. Falleh R. M. Al-Solamy, sponsored the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Makkah International Dental Conference & Exhibition and the Faculty of Dentistry at King Khalid University. The signing occurred on Wednesday morning at the main campus Reception Hall in Abha. Representing the Makkah International Dental Conference & Exhibition was Dr. Meshari Faraj Alotaibi, President of Makkah International Dental Conference & Exhibition. Representing the university was the Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry, Dr. Ibrahim Al-Shahrani.


The MOU aims to build partnerships between King Khalid University and the Makkah International Dental Conference & Exhibition. Considering that the Faculty of Dentistry is on the forefront of providing dental community service to the Asir region, it has been nominated to share insights, conduct practical training sessions and offer special sessions to improve the knowledge of industry professionals and contribute to the growth of the industry. One of the main conditions of the memorandum between the two parties is to encourage educational partnerships in the field of professional dentistry in accord with applicable rules and regulations. Running parallel to the signing ceremony, His Excellency Rector Al-Solamy honored the top three students in the scientific forum for medical internship students. 


Held contemporaneously with the agreement was a scientific meeting attended by Dean Al-Shahrani, vice deans, faculty members, and 125 doctors. The number of research papers submitted by upperclassmen in levels 8 and 9 reached 50, while the number of papers submitted by level six and seven students reached 27 and 23 respectively. 


The following female students received awards for raising the quality of scientific research:


  • 1st Place: Asma Al-Qarni and Muna Asiri;
  • 2nd Place: Naja Al-Shahrani, Fatima Al-Mutairi, and Muhra Awad;
  • 3rd Place: Ameera Bdah, Asmahan Al-Nemie, and Ageelah Al-Bahrani.


Additionally, another group of students received awards. They included:


  • 1st Place: Salem Al-Harthi, Saeed Abu Hasel and Khalid Al-Nahari;
  • 2nd Place: Ghadib Al Ghadib;
  • 3rd Place: Faisal Al-Ahmari and Suwalem Al-Qahtani;
  • Best Scientific Poster: Saeed Abu Hasel and the student Asma Al Qarni.